HomeSIT Cape Town is a group of locally based, reliable housesitters & pet sitters, founded in 2015 by experienced house & pet sitter, Paula Jackson. Paula identified the need for house & pet sitters whom clients could trust, based on the fact that they were screened and accountable to a Manager, and had been trained to uphold a certain standard when they went into people's homes.
 
Since we opened we have had countless clients who have found our service invaluable. Many of them had had  bad experiences in the past using inexperienced/ self-recommended housesitters or the 'teenager down the road'. Other clients simply value our no-hassle booking service and dependable, animal-loving petsitters.
Our Cape Town housesitters:

Most of our housesitters are responsible young adults (students and young professionals) with house and pet sitting experience and references. We do have some older sitters too if that's what you'd prefer!

We look for sitters with a great attitude to life and to caring for your home. We also make sure that we only engage sitters who have been successful in their own lives, career/ education.

We require work and education history, as well as employment and character references from our sitters. Any applicants are interviewed and screened by HomeSIT's Founder and Manager, who takes great care in selecting house sitters for our team. All sitters are trained in our policies & procedures, tested on them in the interview, and monitored continually to ensure good service. As such, we can guarantee your satisfaction with their level of maturity, initiative and responsibility.
We trust our sitters to look after your homes and pets. And you can too.

Meet your Admin team

reputable housesitter Cape Town
Karen photo (1).jpg
Paula Nokuthula Jackson

Founder, Owner, Manager

HomeSIT Cape Town is an initiative started by Paula Jackson.

 

Paula (33) has lived in Cape Town since the age of 2. She went to school and university here, before obtaining a  Masters degree in African Studies from the University of Oxford (2012).

 

Paula lectured in South African Political Thought at UCT and is now a freelance academic researcher. Her research interests include African customary law; land reform; and the social history/ lived experience of ordinary South Africans.

 

Paula loves all forms of dance. She has done ballroom and latin, salsa, swing and sokkie! She teaches dance as entertainment for events through Dance Link (barn dance teaching/ calling; themed dance-based icebreakers for parties; wedding dance lessons and more).

She is a member of Christ Church, Kenilworth.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_2267.jpg
Karen Herring
 
Administrator

 

Karen (42) is a Hotel School graduate and a mom of two. Before becoming a stay-at-home mom, she worked in the Hospitality Industry at restaurants and guest houses as well as an au pair in the UK. 

 

She grew up always having at least 1 dog in the house and is currently the owner of 2 rescues. She horse rode for most of her teenage and early adult years, and her hobbies include travelling, Pilates, cooking and has she recently ventured into the world of stand-up-paddle boarding!

 

Karen tries to live by the mantra 'Life is not measured by the number of breathes we take, but rather by the moments that take our breathe away!' Trying to remember to always find the beauty in life around her.

Nuraan Fataar
 
Administrator

Nuraan (32) is an LLB graduate who also completed her LLM in Transnational Criminal Justice, International Criminal Law, Organized Crime and Money Laundering. While she no longer practices in the legal field, she still has a keen interest in world politics and human rights issues.  

 

Her interests include discovering all South Africa has to offer, working out at the gym, sewing and baking. She believes that we are all capable of ‘more’ and we should always do more of the things we love.

 

She loves all animals but her favourite pets are cats, which she has had most of her life. She has a little rescue cat called Lex who rules the house with his mischievous antics.

Meet your sitters

house sitter/ pet sitter cape town
Candice and Gareth.jpg
Jason and Marianne_pic.jpg
David Robertson.jpg
Denisa _pic (2).jpg

Carin Payle

Home and Pet Sitter

 

Carin (30) has her Btech in Biomedical Technology from CPUT and is a qualified Cytogeneticists.

 

She gained both au pairing and house and pet sitting experience while she was studying and she loves animals of all kinds! 

She enjoys being involved in her Church as well as spending time with family and friends, hiking, road running, and playing action sports.

Marike Lauwrens

Home and Pet Sitter

 

Marike (28) has an Honours degree in Corporate Communications.  She now works as a Digital Marketer at iMod Digital.

 

Marike also assisted in a veterinary practice doing admin and general duties. She learned a great deal about animals’ health and general well-being. 

 

She has past housesitting experience and loads of enthusiasm to adapt and tend to the needs of each individual home owner.

Kelvina Naidoo

Home and Pet Sitter

 

Kelvina (age 30) has an LLB Degree. She works from home for ABSA as a compliance officer. This allows her plenty of flexibility for house and pet -sitting. She is the proud owner of a dog, a kitten and two guinea pigs, all of whom are cared for by her husband while she is house sitting. She adores all her pets and has always had multiple pets.

 

Kelvina has been a house and pet sitter for the last ten years. Her hobbies include reading, watching movies and series, and baking.

She is a homebody who always enjoys spending time at home.

Candice Ann Lorton and Gareth Kieck

Home and Pet Sitter

 

Candice (25) has completed her BSc in Animal, Plant and Environmental sciences, and further specialised her Honours in Marine Biology. She has majored in courses focusing specifically on Animal behaviour; therefore, giving her (in addition to personal experience)

academic intellect on the nature and behaviour of animals. She is currently working remotely as a marine researcher.

Gareth (27) is currently also working remotely as a Third year Audit Senior. Gareth grew up with cats and Great Danes and loves spending times with all furry friends.

Candice Ann and Gareth are active members of their Church who recently got engaged.

Jason and Marianne Stevens

Home and Pet Sitters

 

Jason (31) studied Business Science in Marketing and is a financial planner. He is also studying tax, part time. His wife, Marianne (23) has a BSc (Honours) in Applied Biology. She currently volunteers at various organisations including Oranjezicht City Farm and Shark Spotters.

 

Jason and Marianne are very comfortable with pets, having grown up with cats and dogs. Jason’s hobbies include, trail running - with dogs if possible, touch rugby and reading biographies. They are also both actively involved with their Church. 

David Robertson

Home and Pet Sitter

 

David (30) is Design Strategist at Rocketfuel in

Woodstock. His interests include interior design,

DIY, hiking and nature photography.

 

His interests include interior design, DIY, hiking and nature photography. 

 

David grew up with many pets of all shapes and sizes –these included a Maltese Poodle and a loyal Staffie. He currently does not have any pets as he lives in a flat, so he loves pet sitting!

Denisia Adams

Home and Pet Sitter

 

Denisia Adams (35) has a virtual assistance business providing admin and operational support.

 

Denisia grew up with animals (dogs, cats, fish) and loves all things animals and finds much joy being around them!

 

She loves learning and experiencing new things through activities, people, places, adventures, writing, blogging and reading.

best houses sitting company cape town

Samuel SSerwanga

Home and Pet Sitter

Samuel (36), works as an Operations Engineer (IT).  He did not have his own dogs/ cats growing up, but grew to love them through his friends with pets. Cats are his favorite and one day, he would like to own both cats and dogs.

 

Samuel is a song-writing and performing musician in his spare time. He also has a passion for Lindy hop dance and wants to teach dance. He enjoys being outdoors, longboarding and rock climbing and is a member of church. 

Lezel_Baranard_pic.jpg

Lezel Barnard

Home and Pet Sitter

Lezel (53) worked as an office coordinator at a jewellery company for many years, and a while ago decided to start her own business, which she runs from home.

 

She is an animal lover and grew up either having a cat (her favourite) or smaller dogs in the house. Her interests include cooking, visiting interesting coffee shops, exploring new places with family and friends, going to the theatre, spending time in nature and a keen promoter of Cape Town and surrounds.

find a responsible housesitter cape town

Gokul Nair

Home and Pet Sitter

Gokul (26) is a Biomedical Engineer, working on

developing medical devices.

 

Gokul loves photography and he often goes on hikes to

capture the sunset or sunrise. He's famous on instagram! (check his insta out at goku_explores)

 

He grew up in a house with cats, hamsters and dogs and has always loved having them around.

Ross_Pic_2.jpg

Ross Flugel

Home and Pet Sitter

 

Ross (25) currently works for a non-profit organization, focused on providing care for autistic adults. He has an undergrad in Film Study and English Literature and an honours degree in Film Writing.

 

His passions include poetry, cinematography, writing and Dungeons and Dragons.

 

Ross grew up with Labradors and adopted two rescue cats, but is keen on all animals – from ducks to frogs to goats!

Shirley Khubedu

Home and Pet Sitter

 

Shirley (27) was born in Pretoria, grew up in Johannesburg and later Namibia. She is now a junior doctor who very nearly studied veterinary sciences. 

 

She has always loved animals and had a cat, hamsters and a parrot as pets while growing up. She plans on having dogs someday but until then will channel all her love towards all of your fur babies. 

 

She is responsible and takes great pride in all that she does.

Chris Hammond

Home and Pet Sitter

 

Chris (25) is studying his BA in motion picture medium at AFDA and is in his final year of academic study. 

 

His interests include all things creative as in conceptualizing and collaborating. His passion lies in videography, photography and post production. 

He loves the ocean and loves books and fully enjoys a good workout as well as any team sports with some good friends.

 

Chris grew up with cats, dogs, rabbits and even ducks! Animals are a true blessing and they reflect God’s creative touch. We are so blessed to be ambassadors and care takers for God’s animals.